Roger Goddell took a lot of criticism last season because of the penalties and fines handed to players over simple celebrations when they scored touchdowns. How many times did you hear about the ‘No Fun League’ over the course of 16 weeks? Plenty.

Players like Antonio Brown, Josh Norman, Odell Beckham Jr., Kelvin Benjamin, Tajae Sharpe, Le’Veon Bell, and Victor Cruz were all fined for celebrations seen after making plays for their respective teams. And that’s only the half of them.

Under the new rules, players will be allowed to use the ball as a prop, they can celebrate on the ground and in groups starting next season. Sexually suggestive motions like ‘twerking,’ as well as violent acts (ie. throat slashes, bow and arrow shots) will continue to be penalized. If the celebration delays the game or is used for taunting the other team will be flagged.

“We know that you love the spontaneous displays of emotion that come after a spectacular touchdown. And players have told us they want more freedom to be able to express themselves and celebrate their athletic achievements. Offensive demonstrations, celebrations that are prolonged and delay the game, and those directed at an opponent, will still be penalized.”